Bicep - Isles [2 x LP]


Regular price £21.55 (£25.86 Inc VAT)

Release Date: 29th January 2021

Belfast-born, London-based duo Bicep (Matt McBriar and Andy Ferguson) release their hotly anticipated second album, “Isles”, on 22 January 2021 via Ninja Tune.

Two years in the making, “Isles” expands on the artful energy of their 2018 debut “Bicep”, while digging deeper into the sounds, experiences and emotions that have influenced their lives and work, from early days in Belfast to their move to London a decade ago. “We have strong mixed emotions, connected to growing up on an island” they say, “wanting to leave, wanting to return”. “Isles” is, in part, a meditation on these contradictions, the struggle between the expansive and the introspective, isolation and euphoria.

The breadth of music they’ve been exposed to in London during this time informs “Isles’” massive sonic palette; both cite the joy of discovering Hindi vocals overheard from distant rooftops, snatches of Bulgarian choirs drifting from passing cars, hitting Shazam in a kebab house in the vain hopes of identifying a Turkish pop song. But time away from home has also made the pair more reflective about the move between islands which led them here. 

12” gatefold sleeve on Curious Matter, printed colour and Pantone, three cover variations (selected at random). 2 x 140g 12” black vinyl housed in purple paper inner sleeves. Download code included. 

a1. Atlas
a2. Cazenove
a3. Apricots
b1. Saku (feat Clara La San)
b2. Lido
b3. X (feat Clara La San)
c1. Rever (feat Julia Kent)
c2. Sundial
d1. Fir
d2. Hawk (feat Machina)