NORTHSIDE - The First Wave of Drum & Bass in Finland [2x12" Vinyl LP]


Regular price £20.82 (£24.98 Inc VAT)

Release Date: 2nd October 2020

NORTHSIDE documents the formative years of jungle / drum & bass scene in Finland. Complemented by extensive sleeve notes exploring the country’s earliest DJs, producers and clubs, NORTHSIDE is an intriguing look into how far the music has travelled from the UK and at the same time represents Finland's own sound, energy and character that remains distinctive to this day.

The double vinyl features sought after classics by Fanu ("Two Drummers"), Resound ("Ghetto Funk") and Muffler ("It's The Way", originally scheduled as SUBB 003). The spotlight is also on unsung pioneers like Samuel & Nasley, Breakwater Crew and Champagne while dubstep don Tes La Rok dusts off his d&b moniker Dice for a fresh rework of his early '00s favourite.

a1. Samuel & Nasley - Northside (1997)

a2. Champagne - Cyclone (1998)

a3. Dharma - Stars Up Above (2002)

b1. Dice - Memories (rework, 2004 original)

b2. Bluez & Bronco - Drum No Die (2003)

c1. Muffler - It’s The Way (2001)

c2. Esc & Mineral - Kongo Tune (2003)

d1. Resound - Ghetto Funk (2005)

d2. Fanu - Two Drummers (2003)