Romeo Louisa - Rarified Terms EP


Regular price £8.99 (£10.79 Inc VAT)

Release Date: 11th March 2022

Following his feature on We Miss The Crowd EP - the last addition to our Killer Cuts series - Romeo Louisa returns to the Shall Not Fade catalog with a blissful solo EP.

Rarified Terms sees the emerging French producer come into his powers with three soulful deep house tracks which reflect his musical background in jazz, and see reworks from the likes of Shall Not Fade family members and fellow collaborators, THEOS and Denyl Brook, and London duo, Funk Cartel.

The EP starts as it means to go on. A skippy house beat, jazz-like piano chords and diva-esque vocal phrases lend "Desires" a driving propulsion, equally suited to the dancefloor as it is to a more laid-back listening environment. Next up, the stripped-back melody on the title track makes way for a focus on percussion, paying tribute to Romeo's brief residence in London with a half broken garage beat. "The House of Jazz" sees the EP at its classiest with soulful piano chords and a bouncing deep house rhythm, at times punctuated by drum accents which reference the sporadic nature of jazz improvisation.

Next up, enter Silver Steps Records boss, Denyl Brook, and fraternal duo, Funk Cartel, who offer their take on the title track before French producer THEOS rethinks "The House of Jazz", teasing out the lower ends so that the track is led by a funk-infused bassline.

A1 Romeo Louisa - Desires

A2 Romeo Louisa - Rarified Terms

A3 Romeo Louisa - The House of Jazz

B1 Romeo Louisa - Rarified Terms (Denyl Brook remix)

B2 Romeo Louisa - Rarified Terms (Funk Cartel remix)

B3 Romeo Louisa - The House of Jazz (THEOS remix)