Various Artists - Freaky Friends Volume 1


Regular price £9.43 (£11.32 Inc VAT)

Release Date: 31st July 2020

The return of our VA series is marked with the new chapter ‘Freaky Friends Volume 1’ featuring the likes of P.Leone, Nasty King Kurl, Sentient State, Ole Mic Odd, Dj Swagger, and Main Phase.

The Berlin-based label has been going strong since its founder - Australian DJ and producer Dj Whipr Snipr - launched it in 2016, with recent genre-spanning releases traversing acid, house, breaks, and electro from artists such as DJ Bowlcut, Low Tape, Soela, Subjoi, Interplanetary Criminal, J.Albert, DJ Safeword, Anthony Fade, and many more. Nerang now invites six quality artists for its most ambitious release yet to inaugurate the imprint’s ‘Freaky Friends’ series. E-Missions founder and Rekids regular P.Leone leads the way with a thudding breaks number called ‘Parting Currents’. A rumbling bassline is later joined by lush pads and a hammering piano melody destined to rocket listeners into new heights. Following appearances on 777 Recordings and Low Income Squad, Nasty King Kurl is next with a raw sounding ‘Lawless’ - a syncopated cut that blends acid and electro with Memphis rap and R&B.

In fine form off the back of releasing on Hilltown Disco and 99cts RCRDS, Nerang veteran Ole Mic Odd brings a sweaty Ghetto House stomper named ‘Hydro Anthem’ complete with a gritty acid bassline and Pointdexter-esque chopped vocals, making way for Sentient State’s ‘4 Tha Freaks’ which exhibits the New York-based artist’s softer side as he layers lush pads on top of a stripped back electro rhythm for pure euphoria.

With releases on Natural Sciences, Who’s Susan and E-Beamz, Germany-based producer Dj Swagger ups the energy, clocking in with the compilation’s fastest track in a bouncing Chicago House inspired cut entitled ‘The Phone Talky’. Tying it all together, Warehouse Raves and ec2a artist Main Phase’s ‘Get Higher’ is a punchy UK garage track complete with thudding 909 kicks, purring bass, fluttering vocals and rave stabs.

a1. P.Leone - Parting Currents

a2. Nasty King Kurl - Lawless

a3. Ole Mic Odd - Hydro Anthem

b1. Sentient State - 4 Tha Freaks

b2. Dj Swagger - The Phone Talky

b3. Main Phase - Get Higher