Jimpster - Anthology Vol. 2 [2 x LP]


Regular price £17.39 (£20.87 Inc VAT)

Available: 13th July 2021

The world of dance music 25 years ago was a very different place from the one we now inhabit. Rave had transitioned through Hardcore into Drum & Bass whilst UK Garage was brewing nicely and the UK pop charts were full of underground dance records. Meanwhile, the likes of Mo Wax, Ninjatune and Compost were pushing away from the dancefloors, introducing blunted beats, jazz-fusion sonics and a whole new movement to electronic music. It was into this atmosphere that Freerange was born, a UK label that reaches its quarter-century this year. At the helm over the last 25 years has been the partnership of childhood friends Tom Roberts and Jamie ‘Jimpster’ Odell.

It’s been a long and eventful journey, from an era of 56k modems, faxed reaction reports and when DJs still bought actual records, Freerange has weathered many storms and sailed through some of the most revolutionary changes to hit the music industry. Through those 25 years, and like the proverbial comforting sound of Bob Ross’ voice, Jimpster’s own music and those artists he releases through the label remain a constantly reliable, not to mention dance floor-smashing presence through the ups and downs of the house music continuum.

This Anthology brings together some of Jimpster’s finest productions across two double pack vinyl LPs from the preceding two and a half decades, showcasing his detailed approach to production and proving why he continues to thrive in the current scene, continuing to be held in high regard by many of the founding fathers of house music and young up and coming producers alike.

In some ways, this collection is a record of developments in UK Deep House as Jimpster slowly refined his sound over the years, continually reinventing the 4/4 template, creating new sounds, fresh chord progressions and original audio ideas, all geared towards creating memorable dance floor moments. He’s perfected a UK version of the sublime anticipation that is at the heart of the very best Deep House, that sense of sitting on the very edge of ecstasy, creating tracks that wonderfully stretch out those blissful moments.

A1. Square Up

A2. Head Spin

B1 - Got A Hold On Your Soul

B2. Rollergirl

C1. A Love Like This (ft Diamondancer)

C2. Late Night Blues

D1. Burning Up

D2. The Sun Comes Up ft Jinadu