Taso - New Start LP


Regular price £10.49 (£12.59 Inc VAT)

Released 16th December 2016

Teklife Records are ready to drop their third release: New Start by Taso. The 7 track LP features collaborations with DJ Rashad & DJ Spinn, Gant-Man, DJ Tre, DJ Manny, DJ Taye and DJ Earl. New Start follows on from a highly coveted vinyl edition, critical acclaim and strong DJ Support for Open Your Eyes by DJ Earl. Once again, the spirit of collaboration is a key element: Teklife is a closely connected group of friends, working together harmoniously, and pushing each other to greater heights and depths through a shared love of footwork music. Smoke Dat Green, Taso’s collaboration with DJ Earl, was featured on Open Your Eyes, and now Taso himself takes centre stage for the next instalment, presenting unreleased classics alongside brand new footwork sounds. An accomplished DJ and MC, Taso frequently appears alongside Spinn at Teklife showcases all over the world. But despite a busy touring schedule, Taso never stops making beats. A multi-instrumentalist with a degree in audio engineering, Taso fuses raw musical talent with technical expertise. Since January this year, he has released an impressive 8 volumes of the Cold Heat EP series, bringing together a whole range of musical styles and moods through his MPC at 160 BPM. This versatility and willingness to draw inspiration from different sources is evident throughout the New Start LP. The title track is sultry and soulful, with Rashad and Spinn’s masterful influence clearly present. Don’t Get Mad provides a stark contrast: a dancefloor-orientated hype track featuring an on point vocal by Gant-Man. Bussin featuring DJ Manny and DJ Tre sounds like a love letter from footwork to jungle music. Over on the flip side, we start off with AM Track: another beautifully crafted classic featuring DJ Rashad and Dj Spinn. In the Green Room featuring Dj Taye is a muscular, speaker-rattling West Coast jam, and Murda Bass takes its cue from golden era UK Dubstep. The heavily - filtered final notes of De Capo Al Coda featuring DJ Earl round off a diverse but consistently high quality outing from Taso and the Teklife family. Message from Taso: “Thank you and much respect for supporting Teklife music. Without you there is no us. This record is dedicated to DJ Rashad and his family.”

Audio coming soon.

1: New Start (Featuring DJ Rashad, DJ Spinn, TASO)
2: Don't Get Mad (Featuring GANT-MAN)
3: Bussin (Featuring DJ MANNY, DJ TRE)
4: AM TRACK (Featuring DJ Rashad, DJ Spinn)
5: In The Green Room (Featuring DJ Taye)
6: Murda Bass
7: Da Capo al Coda (Featuring DJ Earl)