D Brown - Mr Brown / Tombuoy


Regular price £6.60 (£7.92 Inc VAT)

Release Date: 18th February 2022

D Brown, New Zealand's answer to Fatboy Slim, returns with another cut up
frenzy - this time updating Bob Marley's "Mr Brown" to the 21st Century. As well
as adding extra crunchy beats, he throws in vocal samples by Q-Tip, Capleton,
Nas, Eric B and Rakim, Linton Kwesi Johnson and the Beastie Boys! And just
when you thought you had the tune licked, in drops a heavyweight riddim
plundered from Terminator X's "Mash It Up" = guaranteed floor filler for the
discerning beats, hip hop and reggae community.

On the flip he reclaims the Tom Tom Club sample used by The Ones (on
"Absolutely Flawless") for the breakbeat massive, with a downtempo groover
called "Tombuoy".

Early plates have been sent out to and played by Rob Da Bank (Sunday Best),
Sugar B (Dub Club, Austria), Greg Roberts (Dreadzone), Daddy Ad and Rob
Wood (Jockey Slut/Sleaze Nation), amongst others.

a1. D Brown - Mr Brown

b1. D Brown - Tombuoy